From Engineer to Film Editor

    Science and math have always been easy for my understand so since I was little i always thought I’d be an engineer. My siblings were also working hard to become engineers which also added to why i thought I had to major in something to do with science or math. I actually started editing because my friend was needed someone to help her film and edit for a One Direction competition she wanted to join. Since I tend to put my friends towards the top of my priorities, without a second i agreed to help her. To be honest before she asked me I never knew how to edit or film.
    I mostly was obsessed with photography during this time. So I decided to try to learn a bit before we actually had to film and edit so that I had some idea of what I was actually doing. It was hard to even figure out where to even begin but slowly I started to understand a bit. There was a problem for when we actually started working on editing. The software i had gotten wasn’t working and it kept crashing so the only way I knew how to edit was now not available. So my friend told me to use her computer and use imovie; the only problem was I never used imovie before. When I opened up imovie it was easy to understand after I played around on it really quickly. The video we had to make had to put together was supposed to two minutes and thirty seconds but boy did it take longer than i ever thought it would. Putting together the video took about four hours. To be honest I have to say that that’s still pretty decent for a beginner. After watching it over I was in awe at how we put together little pieces to create a video that could tell a story.
    During the time we finished it was time to turn in our college applications and I had put chemical engineering as my major. To be honest I looked through all the engineering options to see what I would like the most but, none of them really called out to me. I had chosen chemical engineering because I was good at chemistry. When I told my reasons to my friends they said I sounded so unhappy about it. To be honest I didn’t know what I wanted to do for the rest of my life as a career. Everything sounded so unappealing. After we made the video I knew that this would be what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. I love editing/filming videos so I don’t think I’m going to regret changing my major because I know that I’ll be happy doing this for a long time. Everyone should follow their dreams and if people don’t support your decision then you should use that to motivate you to keep moving towards your dream.
    I’ll be putting up some of my past and current videos in future posts. I hope you all have a wonderful rest of your day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

